Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

For years, education has been essential part of our society, and when it comes to education, mainly teachers are the one who will reflect student's performance in exam. So many people may agree that Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance. However, the argument may not be completely true. There are other factors also which needs to be taken into consideration for the argument to be valid. So, I do not concur with claim.

Firstly, there are many other factors which decides students' performance besides only teachers. It is possible that student is attending extra classes other than only school classes. In this case the performance of student will be combination of both the school and classes. Also, some student may study on their own at home, while some may not study. So, in this case students’ willingness to learn comes into play. So, in this case teachers’ salaries should be based on their students' academic performance does not seems a good choice.

Secondly, students' performance do not completely depends on their abilities. It is also possible that on the exam day some students may panic, and do not perform well on the exam. In this case, even if both teacher and student had tried for well performance, they may not get good result. So, in this judging teachers by their students’ performance may not be valid. Similarly, if on the exam day student is not well, then also the performance of student will decline.

Finally, for everybody in this world money matters the most. Although, some teachers may be in the occupation based on their interest in teaching, for most of the teachers money matters. If teachers’ salaries would be based on their students’ academic performance, many teachers might start teaching student at home. So, in this case also the claim doesn't seems a good choice.

However, if such a rule is applied, some teachers who may not be giving good attention to student, will start paying more attention to them. So, in some cases this rule might also increase the teachers' efficiency and can benefit to students.

In summary, performance of any student depends on many other factors other than just teachers. So, I would not agree with the given claim.