The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument here states that "If you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty" based on some assumptions. However, there are many flaws in the argument's assumption.

First, the writer mentions that Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25. Having more real estate agents does not really mean that the company's revenue will higher. It also depends on the efficiency of the real estate agents. It is possible that 25 real estate agents may have more sales than 40 real estate agents. Also, writer of the argument shows that out of 25 real estate agents of Fitch, many only works part-time. However, no information is given that out of 40 real estate agents how many agents are doing part time job. So, both the number and the efficiency of real estate agents should be taken into consideration while making the argument's point.

Second, write mentions that Adams revenue is twice as high as Fitch's revenue. But, if the revenue is high that does not really mean that Home will be sold faster with Adams' Realty than Fitch's Realty. There is fair amount of chance that the home will be sold with Fitch's realty faster than Adams'. It has nothing to do with the revenue of the company. So, if the time in which home is sold out, is also mentioned with the revenue than it would make the argument cogent.

Third, and the most important assumption made here is, ten years ago the writer listed his home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell, whereas when he listed another home with Fitch last year, it took only one month. The writer of the argument here assumes that before 10 years Fitch and Adams' Realty were as active in the business as they are today. It is possible that home is listed with Fitch last year, it would have taken less time. So, the comparison of time should be done in the same year. Also, it is assumed that last year and before 10 years, the demand for home is the same. Whereas it is highly possible that in 10 years the demand for Homes have changed drastically.

And the last assumption which can be taken into consideration is that writer does not mention anything about Realty companies other than Adams and Fitch. It is possible that there is any other company which sells the Home faster than Adams and Fitch. So, writer's argument that if you want to sell your home faster, you should list it with Adams, is not true. Other realty companies should also be considered for the faster home selling.

In summary, there are many assumptions made in the argument. Hence, the argument seems very unconvincing. The revenue and the number of real estate agent is not sufficient. Author should have considered other factors such as the efficiency of the real estate agents, profit of the company, current demand for homes etc.