The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend."Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom

While it may be true that Adams Reality is indeed superior to Fitch Reality, the author’s argument is rife with holes and addled with assumptions. It is indeed understandable how the author may have arrived at the thus stated conclusion, it is paramount that the author addresses the assumptions made in order to make a more cogent case.

First, the author refers to the number of staff at both real estate firms, inferring that the number of real estate agents is proportional to superiority. This may very well not be the case, as the author fails to consider the experience and level of expertise of the agents at the respective firms. For example, what if the 25 part-time agents working at Fitch Reality are all veterans in the field with extensive knowledge, while the 40 at Adams Reality have relatively less experience and expertise.

The author then references the revenue made by Adams Reality, stating that it was twice that of Fitch Reality. This again does not connote that Adams Realty is of a higher caliber as revenue does not equal profit. For example, what if Fitch Realty with average sales of $144,000 makes a profit of $24,000, while Adams’ average sales of $168,000 results in a profit of $18,000.

Additionally, the author claims that houses listed on Adams Realty sell at a faster rate. The author further buttresses this point by stating an experience they had with Fitch Realty ten years ago in which it took four months to sell a house, while recently they sold a house in less than half that time using Adams Realty. This statement fails to consider the development Fitch Realty is likely to have undergone over the ten-year span, comparing Fitch Realty from ten years in the past with Adams Realty as we know it now. For example, what if at the time Fitch Realty was new to the real estate business and had yet to properly settle in terms of understanding the market, while Adams Realty - having been used recently to sell a house – may be more established.

Also, the author does not disclose to us the state of the houses sold using the respective firms. For example, what if the house sold ten years ago using Fitch Realty was run down and dilapidated, while the house sold recently using Adams Realty was in pristine condition. The author at this point does not also consider economic factors such as recession and so on.

If the author can give suitable evidence to back the assumptions stated, then they may have a more solid argument, but at the moment the argument can easily be picked apart and refuted.