4 The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged \$168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter, the author suggest his friend that he should use Adams Realty if he want to sell his home quickly and at a good price. Although Adams Realty may sell houses as quickly as the author suggested, the argument proposed is base on numerous of unfounded assumptions. Unless the author can provide more evidence to support these assumptions, it is reasonable to question if the recommendation will be true as the author claimed.

First of all, the author compares the number of real estate agents who employed at two firms to support his argument. However, it appears that author simply assumes that more full time real estates agents a firm employs will result in a better price and faster process while selling homes. It is possible that every agent from Adams real estate have to include more home sells and have little time for each case to bargain for a better price. It is also likely that in order to expand their business Adams tried to hire as many agents as they can. Even though they have more agent in staff, Adams is less professional in home sell compare to Fitch. If these situation proved to be true, it is questionable to ask if Adams can provide a better service in home sells.

What is more, the author mention that Adams' revenue was twice as high as that of Fitch last year in order to prove that it is better to use Adams. However, the assumption that if a company earned a better revenue last year, they will provide a better service than other company is obviously unreasonable. It is possible that the Adams achieve the high revenue by the expensive fees they charge for every home sales they make, which makes Adams even more expensive. Adams may tried to sell large amount of houses last year regardless of the price in order to achieve a better revenue. If any of these situation turns out to be true, it is reasonable to suggest that it is not a good idea to sell homes via Adams real estate.

Last but not least. The authors use two home sells he experienced with Adams and Fitch in order to prove that it is faster to sell home with Adams. However, it is impossible to assume that the housing market will stay the same over ten years and the reason why the first home sells with Fitch is entirely due to the company in stead of the changes happened in the housing market. It is likely that the second home is more easier to sell due to the better economic environment. What is more, it is possible that Adams were trying to sell homes as fast as they can and didn't bargained for a good price for the second home since the author didn't mention about the price for two cases.

Generally speaking, in order to provide a reasonable suggestion. The author need to provide more home sells cases from two company within a reasonable time frame to show which company will be able to get a better price and faster speeds in home sell.