The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Although there are many great man didn't get the reputation they deserved until long after their dead, as far as I concern, the statement that the gratness of individuals can only be decide by those who live after them is erronious as the history suggested otherwise. In many fields, many historical figures with great achievements changed history forever and it is impossible for anyone who live after them or their contemporaries can ignore the greatness of their achievement.

In the field of scientific reasearch, It is almost impossible for any contemporaries scientist to ignore those individuals among them who makes the greatest discovery. The unique ingenunity of these great discoveries is that not only these theories will stand true regardless of the passage of the time, but also become the fundation for many of the future discoveries. For example, the theroitical physicist Albert Einstien have already been considered as the greatest scientist at the time when he proposed the theory of relativity. New concepts the theory introduced changed the theroitical physics forever and it is bond to be a great achievement even a the point of view of a contemporarie scienties. What is more, even though scientist has made great deals of descovery since the theory was published, people haven't thought differently about Eistien until today because the theory of special relativity and general relativity are still considered one of the most important theory in mordern physics.

In the field of engineering, people can also recognize those individuals with great achievements from the same era. These great people, although their name may not be widely know by the public, but the great accomplishment they obtained changed the world and therefore be remembered by the history forever. For example, the Engineers who worked on the Apollo program will no doubt be one of the greatest engineers in the 20th centery. It is more than momentous for millions of people arounds the world to see Niel Amstrong makes his first step on the moon. Although the engineering achievement may not be everlasting as a scientific thory, it represents the progress of social development and marks a key point in history. In addition, not only does the engineering accomplished the impossible, but also changed the norm of our everyday life. For example, the GPS system, although it is a used by everyone, it is still a well-known engineering marvel. Hunderies of satelliets surrounding the earth can provide accruate navigation data for thousands of people around the world.

In summary, the greatest scientific or engineering achievements can always change the history forever, and as such achievement is known and tested by the contemporaries, the greatness of individuals can always be decided by the people from the same time.