The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Could it be said that only after the end of one generation comes true assessment of the greatness of an individuals ?

Indeed, true greatness can be defined, assessed and judged at anytime, but only more clearly if judged at first instance with firsthand point of view and information.

Clearly, the success of every individual can be perceived by their contemporaries largely because they are made to live through quite similar times with the norms of that period so they would be able to quantify the beauty of one who truly possess ingenuity and sagacity as they would often stand out amongst their peer.

Although of frequent occurrence is the case were the greatness of individual are for some reason are clouded by later come to light after their demise of perhaps many b generations later. Largely this is due to the fact that sometime there is so much hate and propaganda in there time but the later generation are able to picture these individuals from a disinterested point of view.

Moreso, individual of the same generation will be better placed to judge their contemporaries since they would be on the same pedestal and will have mixed feels about themselves, about their colleagues and would mostly compete in the journey of success and it is on that note that those who have made a distinction will be acknowledged by friends and foes and such a robust perspective is most realistic.

Furthermore, there is greatness that cannot be hidden to denied as seen I the life of great artists like Michael Jackson, Whitney Houston and some their comtemporaries who graced their stages having the most of their colleagues recommend them for multiple awards and titles in recognition of their greatness.

Inconclusion, it is without any doubt that the greatness of individual is better decided by their contemporaries as they have a vintage point as they understand the sensitivities of the time as even they are judged by that very time as well.