The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The thing about greatness is that it is evident to everyone who observes it happening. Thus, an individual’s greatness must be decided by their contemporaries along with those who come after them.

Contemporaries are key to deciding an individuals greatness since they live in the same context that the individual lived in. They are able to compare this person to people in their individual time. Consider Mozart. Mozart is one of the greatest piano players who ever lived and this fact was acknowledge by those greats who live during the time. In baseball, Ty Cobb was considered one of the great hitters and base-runners ever. The reason for this is no only is there the statistical evidence, but there are accounts by players and newspapers from that era that discussed how great of a player he was. Without these accounts, his greatest would be dimised since there would be people who came along would had more hits and bases stolen than him. Those who lived during the time of a person’s individual greatest are the only one’s who truly understand the context that the person was living in.

People who come afte a person’s individual’s greatness must use tools from the past to give evidence on their opinions of greatness. Contemporaries give the awards for greatness in during their own times. People who come after look to these individual awards as evidence for their own beliefs of individual greatness. John Wayne won best actor a couple times during his career and this award was based on the opinions of the film industry of the time. Michael Jordan winning most valuable player in 1992 was decided by the writers of the national basketball association that year. Without these acknowledgements of individual greatness in their own time, a person cannot be considered great by people who came after.

Greatness is clear to everyone who observes it. It would be a terrible mistake to decide the greatest of individuals simply on the ideas of those who came after them and not acknowledging those who lived during their time.