The best way to teach whether as an educator, employer, or parent – is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extend to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Teaching someone by praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones can have serious consequences in teaching.

The reasons that ignoring negative actions can be horrible are the student learns negative habits. These bad habits could cause failure when the skill is required, put others in danger and/or learn the correct way to do something through correction from the teacher.

By ignoring negative actions,students learns negative habits around the subject area that they would learning about. These negative habits cause the student to fail because of this habit. An example of this can be seen in teaching someone on how to shoot a basketball.

If the student is praised solely on his ability to make a basket, they will to shoot a basket from his hips or another position that may not be effective. If he continued to shoot this way, when he would try to shoot in a game, his shot would be blocked.

Bad habits can also cause the student to put themselves or others in danger. For example, if a mother ignores actions of her children when they cross the street without looking both ways, her children could create the habit of not looking both ways.

This habit would lead to the child being injured or killed or causing a car accident if a driver swerved to avoid the child. Bad and sometimes dangerous habits can be created when a teacher to ignore the negative actions of their students. Finally, if a student creates a bad habit, the student loses the oppurnity to learn the correct to do a something through the correction of the student. This correction can help the student become more production in their task.

An example of this is when someone teaches the way to cast a fishing line. If teacher shows how to improve their casting motion after a student did not cast well, the student would learn from the teacher and cast better the next time.

Ignoring the negative actions of a student is a horrible way to teach someone. It creates habits that will cause the student problems in the future. The reason for this is because the bad habit they create can fail them when they need it most, create a dangerous situation for themselves and others around them, and will prevent them from learning through correction.