Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The work in any field is subject to judgement both from experts in the field and lay people. This can cause confusion within society when evaluating each type of criticism. Critical judgement from nonexperts lack the experience and knowledge base that the experts possess.

The inexperience of the masses within a given field is key flaw in making judgements of a field. This inexperience causes lay people to misunderstand the context each field is in. Evidence of this can be seen in economics. When the head of the federal reserve choses to keep the interest rates, they do because their years of experience as a head of a federal reserve bank in their region. This experience is more valuable than the desires and analysis of investors who are posting on their blog. The inexperience of a common person causes the judgements to be trivial to the public.

The lack of study of the relevant literature regarding the field can cause a person not in a field to make uncritical judgements. Economics is a field that showcases this fact perfectly. While protestors march for raises in the minimum wage, they do not know the economic impact that this policy would have on them. If they had read some of the papers on minimum wage in economic journals, they would realize that they see the number of hours at their jobs cut. They would also see that companies would hire more part time workers rather than full time workers.

Evaluating a field of knowledge is tricky for everyone. This occurs since the mass and the experts can have vastly criticisms from each other. However, critical judgements from lay people do not hold the same power as an expert since they do not possess the time in the subject or the knowledge of the subject.