Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Experts possess profound knowledge on their fields acquired from several years of endeavor. In contrast, layman do not possess the insight those experts have but can judge the work in a different angle thus bringing fresh air.

Admittedly, maverick's judgements are credible compared to the dabblers. Their mastery in specific fields enable them to penetrate through the work, because of the numerous trial and error process they have come through to be in the current position. Compared to novice's lack of knowledge about such discipline, they would be able to provide a much reliable appraisement. For instance, before awarding the Fields medal in math, the proposed papers are reviewed by a group of the most prominent professors of the field to validate the proposed theories. Hence, depending on experts would be a safe decision in the case you are searching for a reliable judgement.

On the other hand, experts may be infatuated by their love to their fields that they might not be able to be objective. The disposition to support ideas that are coherent with ours and denunciate that derogates ours is a natural human instinct which applies to the authorities as well. The authorities are especially weak, because by agreeing to opposing ideas might mean the fallacy of theirs which they have spent their lives on. For instance, when Copernicus asserted that the earth revolves around the sun, acknowledged scientist of the time all dissented with the idea because of the fear that they will lose their positions. Therefore, in some cases the maverick's opinions may be parochial.

Furthermore, the neophyte can sometimes show out of the box thinking. Neophytes, since they are not exposed to the widely held notions, will be able to view the work in a different angle thus suggesting a unexpected type of evaluation. For instance, in arts and music Pablo Piccasso's pictures were regarded as strange and even futile by the realistic aestheticists of the era. However, to a layman the pictures may have seem to possess great value. All in all, a novice not contaminated by the rampant views of the experts, might be the ones that realize the real virtues of a production.

In conclusion, although asking a professional for the confirmation a safe way, it does not ensure success because of the provincial view they may possess about the discipline. Rather, a neophyte could present better comments regarding their unsullied minds.