Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The given statement points out the fact that the critical judgment of work made by an expert in some field would be valuable in some time, which I do accept. However, I cannot agree with the claim as a whole due to the "all or nothing" perspective that the judgment of normal people is of little use. Here are some reasons.

First of all, the claim reveals that the judgment of an expert is more meaningful and valuable. Admittedly, this is certainly reasonable because the expert my grasp much more professional knowledge and working experience in the field. For example, the winner of the Nobel Prize is determined by professors from different top universities or institutes. As a result, when the work refers to something of the high profession and inaccessible for normal people, the claim is certainly reasonable.

whereas, this partial rationality cannot change the overall incorrectness, because in most cases, the work serves people and ought to be judged by people, especially in most fields related to our daily life. For instance, there is a well-known website called Douban in China. The function of it is to provide people with a platform to rate TV shows, movies, books, etc. Although the judges are not famous writers, movie directors or experts in art and literature, we all consider the grade or rate on the website as a golden rule of work.

To sum up, in the original statement, there is indeed a reasonable point that critical judgment of work in some professional fields cannot be considered valuable if it does not come from an expert in that field. While it cannot be regarded as fully persuasive since most of the work in the world serve in our daily life should and sometimes must be judged by common people. Actually, I disagree with the claim.