In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Although, a novice in a discipline might be able to present fresh ideas, some subjects require profound knowledge as a prerequisite to make any kind of contributions. Hence, it can be asserted that both a new perspective and some depth of knowledge is important to create innovations.

First of all, in the fields of literature, arts, and music, an expert may be exposed to the ideas and trends so that he will not be able to deviate from the current standards of creations. Arts in the romanticism era contain critical similarities such as the depiction of light in paintings because artists were exposed to contemporary views of the time and were strongly influenced by it. On the other hand, a neophyte artist may be unfamiliar with the current notions of art and will be able to produce paradigm shifting creations leading to a new era of art. Consequently, in a discipline where imagination is a core substance of contribution and any form of product is acceptable, a beginner may be exalted than a professional.

Nevertheless, there are also fields where a starter will not be able to make any contributions due to the required knowledge to make meaningful discoveries. As time passed the accumulation of human knowledge in the math, science and technology field have become grandiose. Also, these subjects depend strongly on logic, and a discovery will not be accepted if it contradicts with the existent facts. Therefore, without studying the precedent findings, it will be almost impossible to produce new findings. For instance, even Einstein had to learn basic physics of Newton and required help from his fellow mathematicians to finish his theory on special relativity, which presents a more comprehensive view of physics. All in all, however fresh a new perspective be, it might be useless if it doesn't fit to the original discoveries in some studies.

Finally, there are studies that require both the new perspective and knowledge. In a corporation, a novice manager might bring new wind into the business by implementing unprecedented marketing strategies because she isn't informed about the methods used in the real world. However, her strategy may be based on the knowledge acquired from MBA, and may be both innovative and effective. This is also the reason why sports teams with a poor performance change their managers: they hope a new manager, although not inexperienced, will bring new strategy and milieu into the team and promote the team's performance. All in all, there are some fields that require both the knowledge and imagination for success.

In conclusion, it would be sound to argue that different fields of inquiry require different levels of expertise: arts and music may benefit from the novice, science and technology will prefer the educated, and business and sports might want somebody in the middle.