As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the field of Engineering, the steps taken for a individual to develop a new technology could be divided into two steps. The first step which is the accumulation of the knowledge, and things seem to get clear at first but will eventually end up with a profound theory. The next step is the application where various factors accrue to unexpected results.

First, engineers receiving undergraduate education will be able to understand the basics of their discipline. Basic physics, math, and rudimentary theories about technology seems to brighten our understanding of the subject. For instance, in the Electrical Engineering department, students learn the basic circuit theory which helps them to understand why transistors are used in computers enabling them to understand the mechanisms that seemed to be esoteric to experts of the field. This starting point is exciting because everything is comprehensible and coherent to the theory.

Next, they start learning about the real life technology and how the fundamentals are applied. In this stage, some students fall behind because it requires overall understanding of the field due to the interaction between various parts. For instance, students starting to learn how to design a computer will be taken aback by the intricate structure of the interior and how it interacts with the OS, and software. Therefore, after the basic educations are finished, the theory will start to become complicated to match the applications of the technology.

Finally, in the application stage, where theory meets the real world, you will start meeting abnormal consequences. The theory that you have learned will be always different from the real world because it is a simplification of it: to make a model which is analyzable, cutting off details is inevitable. For instance, programmers face bugs that were not anticipated on a daily basis. This phenomenon is due to the enigmatic nature of the computer and coding language rather than the competence of the developer. Hence, in the application stage where you really start working, it would become impossible to fully understand the situation.

In conclusion, learning the grounds for engineering might be exciting because it seems like it is revealing the mechanisms inherent in devices. However, as the theory starts to pick up it's pace and gets closer to the fields, it would need more endeavor to digest the material. Finally, you will eventually find out that some errors are unexplainable and thus yield that the field is truly uncanny.