The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author asseverates that since residents are more conscience of energy efficiency and since there are more available energy efficient technology to the houseowners, the total energy consumption will decrease and therefore the construction of a new powerplant is unnecessary. However, this argument is not sound because of several reasons. It should elaborate more on the credibility of the survey, whether the residents are truly going to utilize the available technology, and finally that energy usage is correlated to electric usage.

First of all, the author gives several survey results as evidence of home owners willingness to save energy. However, the information about the people participating in the survey is not lucid. The survey may have failed to take account of the people who are less penurious than most of the community and thus is indifferent to efficient use of energy. Furthermore, even if the survey has successfully represented the energy trend of the region, the willingness to act and acting is different. People may be too lazy to change their energy usage or habits even though answering positively to the survey. Hence, to ameliorate the logic, the author should provide credible information about the survey.

Next, numerous technology available does not mean that it is guaranteed to be used. For instance, people may not be notified about the solar panals and thus would retain their anachronistic ways of heating. Or there is also the possibility that the solar panals and insulators are detrimental to the housing interior that people shun from using it. In addition, the home devices that are energy efficient may be too expensive to compensate for the electricity payment reduction. Hence there should be supplementary evidence to show that the residents will utilize these devices to save energy.

Also, the writing makes a pitfall by assuming that energy usage is tantamount to electricity. However, energy can come from numerous sources: fossil fuel, wind, nuclear energy etc. Therefore, for the argument to be coherent it should provide more details about the correlation between energy and electricity. For example, it can corroborate this by informing us that the city is eco-friendly designed and does not burn fossil fuels, and because of geographical reasons there isn't enough wind to convert to usable energy.

Finally, the author fails to incorporate other influences that may change the elecricity usage of the district. If for example, several factories are going to be built, it will obviously consume more energy which may overcome the energy savings made by efficient household users. Unless he informs us about the external factors that may influence the electricity usage, the argument cannot be hold sound.

In conclusion to support the argument the author should provide several additional evidence such as the reliability of the surveys, evidence that housekeepers will use advanced technology and finally the interconnection between energy and electricity.