The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company quot Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy At the same time manufacturers are now marketing many home

The author argues that construction of new electricity generating plants is unnecessary as recent surveys indicate that people are more inclined towards conservation of energy measures and new technologies allow better home insulation and passive solar energy that reduce dependency on such plants. He further states that manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances that are “twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago”. However, in doing so, he inadvertently makes a few assumptions, that, if improper, dampens the persuasiveness of his argument.

First of all, the author substantiates his argument based on recent surveys that indicate that people are more inclined towards conservation of energy. However, the proclivity of people towards conserving energy might be related to other forms of energy such as fossil fuels, whose reserves are depleting with time. The idea of energy conservation might arise due to increasing costs of using energy resources which are depleting with time. As such no relation of the surveys with electricity has been ascertained by the author. The surveys might purely be focussed on other forms of energy and bear no correlation with electricity whatsoever. Hence, without further evidence which shows that the surveys take into account conservation of electrical energy, the author’s assumption that people are likely to adopt measures to reduce their dependency on electricity stands tenuous.

Secondly, the author is presumptuous in stating that since manufacturers are “marketing many home appliances” that are “twice as efficient as those sold a decade ago”, people will be willing to invest in these equipments at such short notice. People might not be willing to replace their already operational appliances with newer, efficient ones owing to the initial cost. Under such a scenario, the prediction that the energy requirements will lessen or remain same stands unwarranted. Similar is the case for better home insulation and other non-conventional measures such as solar energy. The initial cost of establishing such facilities might outweigh the cost of electricity for the home owners and therefore they might not be inclined to undergo such a change. Thus, in considering that the availability of newer, efficient technology and measures will convince the home owners to replace their old existent appliances, the author is overly presumptuous and might be erroneous in concluding that newer electricity generation plants are unnecessary.

Furthermore, the author considers consumers as the primary users of the electricity. However, he fails to substantiate this claim with enough evidence. It might be such that there are heavy industries and that home owners contribute only to a small part of the total electricity consumption. Under such a scenario, appliances used in heavy industries are not likely to change for decades. Moreover, the author sounds adamant in considering that the already present electricity generating plants, which have been operational for around two decades will not be subject to failures in the coming years. It might be that one of these get worn out due to continuous usage and a fourth electricity generating plant is required to fall back on, in order to provide continuous electricity to the consumers. Under either case, the author’s suggestion might prove to be detrimental in the long run.

In conclusion, it is possible that since surveys indicate that homeowners are inclined towards energy conservation efforts and manufacturers are marketing newer, energy efficient home appliances, the need for a new electricity generating plant is unnecessary. However, as it stands now, the argument made by the author is unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide additional evidence on how the surveys correlate to conservation of electricity, how much inclined are the homeowners towards investing in newer, energy efficient technologies by replacing their existent, functional appliances and whether homeowners are the primary consumers of electricity, and whether the operational three electricity generating plants are dependable enough, in order to further his argument.