Claim An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action Reason When assessing the morality of an action the results of an action are more important than the inten

Every action aimed at solving a problem pertinent to society today is susceptible to its own pros and cons. Such actions call forth disagreement between individuals leading to debate and discourse as to whether they serve a greater good. The prompt claims that any action that results in more benefits than adversities is morally correct based on the reasoning that the results of an action are more important than the intent behind such action. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the prompt and its reasoning, and argue that benefits are a subjective matter and as such what is viewed as benefits to one party may not appear so to their counterparts. In the end, what matters most is the intent of the individuals in carrying out actions that are not morally questionable.

A predominant problem viewed in urban India today is that of stray animals. Such animals often tend to be violent due to various reasons and resort to attacking pedestrians and children in a random, disoriented fashion. While such a problem is irrefutably a concerning one as it can lead to widespread infection or may result in incurable diseases such as rabies, culling of such animals to maintain a balance is often proposed as an attractive solution. Albeit a morally questionable solution, this aims to be utterly beneficial to the society as such. However, animal rights activists strongly protest such a course of action as it leads to indiscriminate killing of animals. What is instead proposed as an alternative solution is to get all stray animals vaccinated to prevent any spread of diseases and identify individual animals in order to isolate and treat the particular stray which has become violent. The former proposal appears most beneficial at first because of the ease of carrying out the job. However, the second one seems to solve the problem more pragmatically keeping in mind that often such stray animals such as canines help in safeguarding a community from thefts and burglaries.

Morals are subjective to individuals and what appears sordid to one might appear morally good to another. As such, history is replete with examples how extremism based on one's perception of right and wrong has led to inhuman activities of ill-repute. Looking back at the Second World War and the associated holocaust of Jews, it may be asserted that people during that time believed that such indiscriminate killing is in their best interest. What followed was an epitome, cited even today of the notoriety of then German supreme, Adolf Hilter. The benefits of such killing was made known through long rhetorics to gather support of the indigenous people, convincing them that such action was justified.

Often, it may be so, that a certain course of action inevitably leads to a morally questionable solution. Economically turbulent times are marked by corporate lay-offs and downsizing. Such lay-offs, often to the dismay of its employees, serve to reduce expenditure of a particular organization in order to allow it to survive under duress. While morally not justified and doesn't reflect the efforts the employees had put in the growth of the organisation, such a course of action is not ill on its intent. Such companies hire back the employees once the economic problems are solved and help maintain the moral balance as such.

In conclusion, the claim made that any action is morally justified if the amount of good that results from it is greater than tha amount of bad that it entails is erroneous based on the reasoning that the results are more important than the motive. At times of duresss, often people have to resort to morally questionable course of action but more often, other alternatives should be explored to maintain a moralistic balance.