Claim We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own Reason Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagre

While arguably, the most reasonable way to determine whether an individual’s knowledge holds relevance in the grand scheme of things is through debate and discourse. This not only encourages the individual to consider new perspectives but also asserts whether his arguments draw considerable consensus amongst his peers. However, undue debate, subject to personal bias and prejudiced attitude by people towards any controversial issue impedes learning rather than allowing its growth.

Predominantly on mass media, such as television, programs intended to discuss national or regional issues often tread a line of irrational and rhetorical debates on these topics amongst people hailing from different parts of the society. These people often include politicians who engage in rhetoric and invectives targeted towards their counterparts that undermine the importance of the intended debate, and creates an atmosphere of palpable tension. The audience learn nothing as such and the issue being discussed reaches no reasonable solution or conclusion. Such an example serves to show that if people are fundamentally motivated towards contradictory opinions due to personal agendas, then it is not precisely possible to accumulate knowledge through such vociferous debates.

However, other fields where people are more tolerant towards others’ views and respect their opinions, debate and discourse is of prime importance in gaining knowledge. History is replete with scientific examples that have stood the test of time and others which have gone through several iterations of updates based on newer discoveries and contradictions when reviewed by contemporary scientists. For example, Newtonian mechanics stipulated by Sir Isaac Newton was long considered as the physics governing the universe. However, with the discovery of newer properties of electrons such as wave particle duality people soon discovered the presence of quantum mechanics. Even today, research papers published in journals go through a meticulous study by an individual’s contemporaries to assert the conclusiveness and fidelity of his findings. Such examples show how dialogue and discourse through people of varied opinions can result in an overall increase in knowledge, beneficial to all involved, at an individual level.

Furthermore, internationally, people of different ethnicities hailing from different nations represent their countries on several diplomatic issues that needs resolution. These are a heterogeneous group who eventually strive towards achieving common goals. Thus, even if such people are disparate, they learn about each other and their problems and develop an overarching opinion which is not parochial and serves to consider all the nations alike. Inevitably, the claim that we learn more from like minded people than from a disparate group does not hold water at a global level and as such can not really be a reasonable line of action.

In conclusion, it is evident that if people who are prejudiced or lack the rudimentary knowledge on a topic pursue a debate, then overall learning is impeded as such individuals tend to engage in rhetoric and abusive language. However, having said so, the most reasonable way to encourage growth of knowledge, in any field, at an individual or societal level, is through debate and discourse. This helps in gaining powerful insight and allows an individual to consider others’ opinions whilst carefully juxtaposing his and theirs’ for comparison.