Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society especially among children Others believe that children s peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children s beh

The popularity of television and other media platforms have enabled faster and efficient ways for broadcasted programs to reach even the farthest corners of the globe. The prompt suggests that some people opine that the media have a detrimental effect on the youngsters today, as in they depict violence and results in a more violent society. It also conteracts this view with that of the others' who believe that peer groups and parental role are more influential factors that determine children behavior. In my opinion, I mostly align with the latter while arguing that parental guidance should be in place for children who are drawn to violent media programs.

The last decade has been marked by instances of children taking up arms due to psychological trauma or damages arising out of a number of factors such as being bullied at school, domestic abuse among others. This results in shooting incidents at school and other public places, and often causes significant loss of lives. In order to avert such situations, a study of peer groups is more relevant and would reveal the psychlogical and personality traits of a child. These traits, often verging on extremism go unnoticed and hence unchecked, resulting in gruesome incidences of mass murder. Psychologists believe that often the behavioral issues in adults result from childhood trauma. For example, a child who is a victim of bullying often at school due to racial or physical characteristics soon starts detesting the people around him. This hate often manifests in violence where this child, grown into an adults, starts taking revenge on people who he feels similar to his bullies.

Furthermore, parental control has significant impact on inculcating the concepts of right and wrong in a child. When a child enages in brawls and fist fights with his siblings, parents should appropriately handle the situation, whilst teaching the child that such a course of action is not appreciated. Similary, when a child is empathetic to his sibling, parents should praise such qualities to ensure the child values such empathy. Such parental measures often determine and shape up an individual's personality at the most rudimentary level and helps the child imbibe an empathetic and understanding approach rather than take on a violent behavior towards others.

Indisputably, the widespread nature of today's media platforms and the predominance of violent programs broadcasted have a social impact on its viewers. Such programs have gruesome depictions of characters and become popular due to their outrageously grotesque depictions. However, their impact on the societal behavior can be significantly abated if parental control is excercised. While most children are drawn towards watching programs that depict murder, crime and other forms of violence, parental supervision must be maintained if and when these children are allowed to watch such programs. In maintaining parental supervision, adults must carefully caution their children about the repercussions of such violent actions and hence these programs can also serve an educational purpose.

In conclusion, I would suggest that parental control and children peer groups are the two most important factors that determine a child's predisposition. It significantly reveals important characterisitics of children's personalities and helps in correcting them altogether. Indisputably, television and other media which depict violence adds to societal violence, but with correct parental control in place, they can also serve an educational purpose within limits.