Young people should be encouraged to pursue long term realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the pos

The prompt asks a pertinent question, most relevant in today’s society which is marked by stories of sudden successes, albeit short-lived. While immediate fame and recognition indisputably serves to uplift an individual’s reputation and often brings financial prospects, the inconstancy and volatility of such fame and repute might lead to equally immediate infamy or loss, if long-term and realistic goals are not pursued. Hence, I strongly agree that the youth of today should indeed be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek fortuitous fame.

History is replete with examples how perseverance and diligence have been rewarded in the long-term. Such rewards are consistent in that the individual’s efforts are recognized either by society of through manifestations of fate. The question, in this respect is what constitutes a long-term, realistic goal? Today’s reality encompasses a wide array of occupations ranging from established ones such as engineers, doctors, and educationists to more novel and disparate ones like content creators, video bloggers, and crypto-investors. The answer to such question does not lie in the profession itself, but rather the approach one takes towards best realization the potential each profession has.

For example, an engineer might strive hard to gather the vast expanse of knowledge pertaining to his field, rather than changing jobs intermittently in search of higher financial prospects. The former, since it relies on the knowledge the individual gathers, ensures a long-term benefit while the latter, since it depends on market conditions, might provide immediate fortune but not appear so bright given how market conditions change erratically in a matter of days. Similarly, a video blogger should pursue blogging about what he likes and build his reputation in a piecemeal manner to ensure that his blogs depict insights into the matter of interest, rather than taking on topics which look profitable due to certain trends prevalent during that time. While the latter indisputably brings money, immediate fame, and recognition, it brings with it the fleeting nature of such trends – what appeals to the society today is replaced by a new trend tomorrow.

Indisputably, people might argue that the in pursuing long-term realistic goals does not necessarily ensure benefits and even if they do, the benefits they yield are not significantly as high as immediate fame. It is true that in comparison to immediate fame, long-term realistic goals require a lot more effort and is often not based on chance, let alone bring much prospect in comparison to instant fame. So long such fame presents itself based on a fluke, it is not as harmful as when people strive towards achieving such short-term results. For example, certain individuals who make hefty financial profits through short term ventures such as investments in crypto-markets, it is often that they do not realize the value of money and fall prey to drug abuse and other social or moral evils.

In conclusion, the choice whether one should seek immediate fame or pursue long term and realistic goals often shapes an individual’s moral and social behaviour. While long-term and realistic goals make it necessary that people work hard to realize them, it also teaches people the value of the benefits they derive from their hard work. On the contrary, since instant fame and recognition does not necessitate diligence or hard work, people often devalue their benefits and fall prey to social and moral evils.