Some people believe that traveling to and living in numerous places increases one s ability to relate and connect to other people Others believe that this ability is better cultivated by living in one place and developing a deep understanding of that comm

The fact that people, belonging to different national and ethnic origins, tend to have diverse opinions shows how segmented the world is. However, even at a community level, every individual has his or her own opinion to matters of societal concerns and as such, we can perceive a plethora of views even within a diaspora. This raises an important question as to whether one should travel multitudes of places to develop a collective knowledge of the people or should one stay close to people within a certain community to gather insight into the prevalent beliefs of that community. In my opinion, I believe that it is imperative to develop a world-view of people in order to better connect and relate to them, and to do so, there must be adequate amount of interaction with the people of different communities, which necessitates substantial travel around the globe.

What is important to understand is that even though individuals pertaining to a single community have their own opinions, their collective view is regarded as most important from a global perspective. While certain individuals may be prejudiced by traditional and orthodox practices, whether the majority of the people of a certain community has consensus amongst themselves regarding such practices is what helps in ascertaining their progressive and communal beliefs. For example, even in a secular country like India, people belonging to a single religion hold different opinions on matter such as consumption of meat. While staunch Hindu supporters would deem such consumption as impious and sometimes, sacrilegious, other more liberal Hindus would show precedents how a non-vegetarian diet has been a practice throughout the history of Hinduism. Hence, even within a certain community, there is diversity of opinion and as such if you carefully study the distribution based on individuals, it is unlikely to find a common ground. However, if you look for a majority of Hindu people in India, one can easily comment that most of them are pious and closely follow a vegetarian diet, while intermittently enjoying delicacies, such as Biriyani, that have their origin in the country’s history, though not strictly in Hindu diet.

Indisputably, one needs to study a particular community in details to assert the overall viewpoint of the people. This also requires substantial amount of interaction with disparate groups which necessitates that one should invest time and patience. However, once an individual has adequately made progresses in understanding the community, it is important to realise that such a community, although dispersed throughout the globe, does not completely represent all the inhabitants of different nations. In order to gather opposing viewpoints, one must be willing to connect with the largest number of people, across national, societal and age-related boundaries. For example, a Hindu in India is likely to be staunch towards maintaining his vegetarian diet while another in the United States might follow a less restricted one which composes of both meat and vegetables. Thus, in talking about a religion, if one considers only communities pertaining to a national boundary, the data that he collects might not be sufficient in adequately representing people of the same community across countries.

Hence, it is important to understand that norms of societal acceptance across nations around the world often shape a community’s standards and opinions. As a result, in order to better connect with the people of such a community, one needs to assert their common as well as disparate characteristics. This can only be done if there is significant representation of such diverse views and opinions. Hence, quite convincingly, it stands important that in order to better understand the thoughts of people, one must travel around the globe rather than studying the people of a single community alone.