In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area The Hillview landfill which has been undeveloped for decades is a perfect site for the plant The buildi

The author argues that in order to mitigate the unemployment problem of the town, they should encourage Autotech to build its manufacturing plant there. He further states that the Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades is the perfect site for the plant and such a plant would employ many of Hillview residents left jobless after Computech closed its facility last year. He suggests that the City Council should authorize a large campaign and offer significant tax incentives to attract the company. However, there appears several unanswered questions which need to be adressed to determine the persuasiveness of the author's arguments and evaluate his suggestion.

First, the Hillview residents who have been left unemployed after Computech's closure of its facility last year might not be suitable for the staffing of a automobile plant. It is mentioned that Computech was a software programming company while Autotech is an automobile manufacturing company. While they may be overlap in some jobs like facility management and operational structures, most of them between these two are different. A software company is more likely to hire software or computer engineers while a automobile plant would likely employ mechanical engineers. Unless further evidence on how Computech's erstwhile employees suit Autotech's staffing needs, is presented, the author's argument that the automobile plant would employ thousands of Hillview residents who are left unemployed due to closure of Computech's national facility, stands questionable and arguable.

Second, the author suggests to use the Hillview landfill, which has remained undeveloped for decades, for development of the automobile manufacturing plant. However, the question pertinent to this is why other manufacturing companies did not try setting up their units in the landfill earlier. There might be significant challenges in construction of factories in the landfill and this has been the most important factor which has prevented industrial growth in that area. Moreover, the author does not provide any details on how the landfill is best suited for Autotech's manufacturing plant. Therefore, just because that land is available, the author sounds presumptous in believing that Autotech will be willing to use the landfill for their purposes.

Furthermore, the question on how Autotech's automobile manufacturing plant would solve the unemployment problem in the town remains unanswered. What specifically will guarantee that Autotech will not employ outsiders to their plant but rather depend on the residents of the town for establishing their workforce is not mentioned anywhere in the memo. Unless contracts or agreements exist between the town's authorities and the company, that guarantee such employment to the natives, the assumption that such a manufacturing plant will be to the benefit of the people does not hold water. Under such a circumstance, it is not prudent for the City Council to spend money in organization campaigns, or offer tax incentives unless the company agrees to employ native residents.

In conclusion, the establishment of the automobile manufacturing plant of Autotech in the city of Hillview might adequately solve the unemployment problem prevalent there and provide jobs to thousands of residents who were left jobless due to Computech's closing of its national facilitylast year. However, as it stands now, the author's arguments stand unpersuasive based on certain questions that need to be answered in order to evaluate the prospect of organizing campaigns and providing tax incentives to attract the company. The author must show how the erstwhile employees of Computech suit the staffing needs of Autotech. He must present evidence that suggests how Hillview landfill is best suited for the plant and that the company will be willing to set up their operational facilities there and also put proper contracts and agreements in place that would ensure that the plant actually employs native people and solves the unemployment issue.