In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for the plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer a significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based on are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answer to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview claims that the town should encourage Autotech to build an automobile manufacturing plant in Hillview in order to ameliorate the city's unemployment problem. The Mayor cites that after the company Computech failed, it left many residents unemployed, and thus they could work at Autotech's plant. In addition, she claims that Hillview has the perfect spot for Autotech. With her final incentive to attract Autotech to Hillview, she claims that she is trying to get them a tax break. The argument fails to mention answers to several key questions for which the argument can be evaluated. The conclusion that Hillview must encourage Autotech to build in the area relies on assumptions that there is no clear evidence; therefore, the argument is weak, unconvincing, and has several major flaws.

First, the Mayor assumes that since there are many people out of jobs from the recent collapse of the computer company Computech, that these people would want to, or even could with their current skill set, work for a car manufacturer. Although there could be many skills that could transfer from working with computers to building a car, the Mayor fails to cite any evidence for how many unemployed workers could actually work for Autotech. We must know the skill sets of the unemployed workers before we can assume that they can automatically start working in a care manufacturing plant.

The author also claims that Hillview's old landfill is the perfect area for Autotech to build a car building plant. This assumes that this undeveloped parcel of land is still safe for any other industry to use and also that any type of industry can actually use the land. How exactly is the land perfect for the car plant? We must assume that since the potential site has been undeveloped for decades that it is in perfect condition and any sort of industry to use for commercial uses.

In the Mayors final reason, she claims that a tax incentive will attract Autotech, and thus all of the unemplyment problems will go away. This first assumes that a tax break is the most important factor for Autotech, and also, that even if Autotech were to come, that a tax break wouldn't impact the economy of the area. Maybe a tax break could actually make the town worse off because they aren't getting a fair tax revenue amount from Autotech? We need to know more about this tax break incentive.

In a final summary, the argument is weak and is unconvincing. We need answers to more specific answers to questions. It is essential to have full knowledge of all the information before we can agree with the conclusion.