In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area The Hillview landfill which has been undeveloped for decades is a perfect site for the plant The b

The author of the paragraph states that, Hillview landfill can alleviate unemployment problems by enticing a car manufacturing company to open plant in the town. He argues that underdeveloped town with abandoned infrastructure and employees of a software firm would be a perfect place for automobile company. To evaluate this argument thoroughly, Following three questions must be answered.

First of all, will the resources used for a software company can be beneficial to an automobile firm? perhaps, infrastructure required for Autotech is not same as what Computech had. Moreover, Autotech may not need more of software engineers that the town can offer. Does the town has employees with skill set essentials to operate an automobile company? A no to these questions will weaken authors argument.

Secondly, Does this underdeveloped place can provide essential facilities required for an automobile company? Author mentions that the town has been underdeveloped for decades. New proposed plant might need , transport service like road or rail to ship the manufactured vehicles.utilities like uninterrupted electricity, water resources might be a requirement for autotech to operate. If author could answer about the requirement of the company and what the city lack when he called it underdeveloped , a synergy in both answers will weaken authors argument.

Also, author is intended to ask city council to authorize an ad campaign. But then the question arises, if, economy of the city is good enough to afford an ad campaign. considering that town is facing unemployment issues and it's been underdeveloped for decades, perhaps they can't afford an ad campaign whose expected output of attracting the company is uncertain. There is a possibility that after city spent money for ad campaign, the company might feel this place lack essential facilities and choose not to build it's plant. This could worsen the situation of city rather than alleviating the unemployment. Author needs to answer if town can afford ad campaign , if not the argument is highly flawed.

In conclusion, Authors argument to solve the unemployment problem by enticing an automobile company needs more clarification. Above mentioned questions needs to be answered to further evaluate this argument.