A recently issued twenty year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin a medicine used to treat headaches

A study done on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia argues that, with the new found use case of salicylates as a flavor additive in food would lead to continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia. the study concludes this argument based on the observation that, Salicylates belongs to the same chemical family as another headache treating medicine and food processing companies habit of adding Salicylates to food. However, this argument is based on three unwarranted assumptions made by the study due to which the expected result of the study may not happen.

Firstly, argument assumes that, same chemical family medicines are comparable. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that Aspirin has a lower dosage which is experimented and found suitable to treat humans with headaches, but Salicylates might be too strong for human body using which might have lot of unintentional consequences. or Maybe Salicylate will loose it's healing qualityies when served as food where as aspirin is consumed as a pill. If any of the above two scenarios have merit, the conclusion of the argument will be seriously weakened.

Secondly, presumes that, usage of the Salicylates in food as the only possible reason that could have reduced headaches. It's possible that, people of Mentia have become more health concious and may be developed habits that will lead to reduced stress and headaches. For instance, they might have started watching TV from a distance after realising that, being too close to TV screen causes headache. Maybe they started doing yoga, that caused the reduced headache. If the above is true, the conclusion of the argument does not hold water.

Further, even if Salicylates is the reason for reduced headaches, the study blindly assumes that, food processing companies will actually use it as additive flavor for food. It's possible that, initial consumers of this food with newly added flavor complains about the taste and eventually companies drop the idea id using it. using Salicylates as a flavor might even have adverse effects, because of which government doesn't allow the usage. Argument doesn't consider any such possibility. if these possibilities happens to be the fact, studies conclusion is highly flawed.

In conclusion, study's expectation of continued decline in the number of headache cases is highly flawed because of the above mentioned unwarranted assumptions.