In order to become well rounded individuals all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry novels mythology and other types of imaginative literature

College serves as a gateway to get deeper understanding in the field of interest. Such platform shouldn't distract a student by enforcing compulsion of studying few subjects , one may not be interested in.

College is a place where one would be present to explore the beauty of physics , application of finance , life saving capacity of biology or the art of playing guitar. The enthusiasm of a student to learn these beautiful subjects shouldn't be hindered by enforcing a compulsion to read something else - like poetry , which isn't necessary to all the fields of study. For student's who lack interest in imaginative literature , such enforcement would discourage them from perceiving even what they love.

A student would be needing to invest much more time to complete the course if extra subjects been added. This is also a hindrance for great talent to start working for the society and contribute. moreover added subjects would lead to increase in the college fees and in turn an extra burden on most of students who has to repay their education loans.

it's agreeable that interdisciplinary study leads to multidimensional thinking . It provides the student an opportunity to think outside the box . However it should be optional as enforcing such diverse thinking is a distraction to many fields of study rather than a escape from narrow minded mentality.

Hence imaginative literature should be optional to a student , and never a compulsion.