The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station quot Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this period most of the comp

The business manager of a television company argues that, in order to attract more audience and restore their advertising revenue, company should restore their earlier method of allocating more time to local news and weather. However, this argument is based on several unwarranted assumptions and following 3 evidence at the least should be provided to better evaluate the argument.

Firstly, the manager assumes that, the complaints received over the past year were due to the length of time allocated for local news and weather. But this may not be true. It's possible that users are complaining about the quality of local news and weather content it self rather than time allocated for it. May be the news was focusing on a particular area's happenings rather than giving a comprehensive view of the whole locality. May be the news presented is inaccurate and viewers are angry about it. So to understand what exactly did user complain about, the manager has to elaborate on the complaints details. If they are not related to the time length of the local news, this will seriously weakens managers argument.

Secondly, Manager presumes that, decrease in time length of the local news caused cancellation of advertisement contracts. However, cancellation of such deal could have happened because of various factors. For instance, the company which advertised may want to shut down it's business in this locality for losses in recent years. That in turn might have happened because of a better competetor. None of them can be attributed to the time allotement to local news and weather. Or the company has become so popular among the locals that it doesn't have to waste money on advertising at all. In such scenario's the author's argument of increasing back the time length for local news to restore advertising revenue is pretty irrelevant. To further evaluate arguments relavance, manager has to provide evidence to support that, indeed companies stopped advertising because of local news and weather time length.

Thirdly, manager implies the modification done in previous year to allot more time to national news should be retriewed. However, this modification during previous year might have been done to address some other business issues. For instance, most of the audience would have demanded for more coverage and elaborate discussion on national news and they are happy with this modification. Retriewing this might in turn have consequences to business were audience become unhappy again and unsubscribe from this channel. To avoid any such consequences, Manager must provide evidence to support that, removing earlier modification of time length, will not impact the firm's business much.

In conclusion, mentioned argument of the manager to restore time length for local news has several loop holes. He has to provide evidence to support that audience complaints and advertisement contract cancellation were result of short time allocated for local news and weather. He also needs to provide evidence to prove that removing earlier modification will not have serious consequences to further evalute his argument.