The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In my view the statement stated here has many flaws in it that it staes that the viewers and revenues are decreased due to short time allocated to the weather and local news.

The speaker has not proven the evidence for us to directly agree with the assumption made by him about the channel. There are flaws in it like- 1) Maybe the advertising company have any other reason to stop advertising or 2) The weather forecast or local news was not biased or any other issue.

Firsly, we will have a look on the major flaw identified that the advertising company has stopped advertising. The speaker have not stated the reason to believe that company has stopped advertising due to short time given to weather and local news. There maybe reasons like, the company had contract foe that period only for the advertising, maybe the advertising has not impacted the people to buy or use their service or product or maybe the advertising has been shifted to any other channel having more viewers. One can also state the reason that, maybe the company has been closed or impeded the production of that product or service or there are numerous reasons for that. If the speaker assumes the people to believe in his assumption on this then speaker will have to provide evidences like the company has stated that they have stopped advertising because the time allocated for weather anbd local news is short.

Second flaw in the statemanet is that the speakers says that number of viewers have concerns or complaints about the weather or local news. But it is not been explained explicitly that the compalints are because short time is allocated for weather or local news. Maybe, the reasons are - the coverage of the weather or local news is short, a major news is not broadcasted and instead of that a news is broadcasted because which is of low importance or the reasons maybe that the news channel has not covered the or informed their viewers that a storm or any other calamities are going to happen on these dates so as to create vigilance or may have stated the wrong or fake news.

Additionaly, it is also stated that the broadcast was happening at the late night. Then, maybe the viewers want their coverage during daytime or maybe before late nights. The target audience of the company may not be watching the channel at late-nights and therefore, they have stopped advertising. Since, as there is no evidences for these issues also one cannot finally come to the conclusion madee by the speaker.

Thus, according to these flaws, one cannot assume that these are reasoons for the company to stop its advertising ort the complaints the viewers are having about the channel without proven evidences.