An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

People nowadays are so much concerned for their health, that they have became more vigilant for the bad practices happening around them. They want everything to be compliant with their issues. In this case, the issue is regarding that an ailing patient should have esay access to his or her doctor's record for treating similarly afflicted patient. In my view I agree with the statement state by the speaker.There are also some flaws in this issue like that of the privacy protection.

The thing is that if the doctors give access to patients then this can create a sense of confidence and relaxation to the patient in the period of his or her treatment. For example, many a times it happens in case of fatal diseases like cancer or type B hepatitis, the patients are so much concerned or anxious for their treatment that they want their treatment done from a skilled professional only. Because, it is the issue of their life and they want to get every information about the doctore who is going to treat them. In that case, the records of previous patients can give a patient much information and if the results of previous patients are good then, that gives trust to the patient for the process.

Also, in many cases like that of common diseases like dengue, malaria, jaundice or other diseases, the patients ask people around them regarding the results of that physician from whom they are thinking to get consultation. Patie4nts don't have much access in that case to the previous records but the recommendations from their previous patients can help in this regard.

It is the demand of the patient that he should be given "easy" access to the previous records, but, many a times a doctor hesitate to give that information regarding his or her previous patient to protect their privacy in case of diseaes in which the patients have diffidence or hesitation in sharing their records. For example, in the disease like AIDS, Gonorrhea, Syphillis or other sexually transmitted diseases the patients have a societal hesitation in sharing their previous regarding. In those cases, easy access is not possible. But, can be possible if the patient is really in a critical situation and the previous patient by communication with the doctor allows to share his or her records.

Thus, according to these circumstances an ailing patient should be given access to his or her doctors's record of treating similarly afflicted patients, but not the easy access.That will give the patient a relaxation.