Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In my view, the assumption made by the author has flaws because author is relating the business with the number of skateboarders. Let's have a critical view on this assumption.

How can one say that the skateboarding impacts the number of shopkeepers in the Central Plaza? This is the main flaw here. Skateboarding is a general type of fun sport played by the individuals which has nothing to do with the attraction of the shopkeepers towards a mall. Generally, shopkeepers reduce their visit to a shopping place when that place doesn't satisfy the needs of an customer. Maybe the Central Plaza is not provding the customers the range of clothes which the customers are expecting? Maybe the ambience of the place? or anything else which doesn't satisfy the consumer needs.

The another thing that needs to be questioned here is that the author says that this change is happening since 2 years. There is no statistical evidence provided for that by the author. The author should provide the statistical data so that a person will believe that the number of customers has been declined and so the revenue.

The author gives a recommendation that, the city should prohibit skateboarding so that the business of the Central Plaza will restore to its normal pace. Firstly, as I mentioned in the first paragraph that there is no relation of a sport with the business. Another thing is that, even if we assume that the skateboarding is impacting the business. Have author provided the evidence that the sport is being played anywhere in the vicinity of the Central Plaza? Maybe they play in the city ground far away from the place.

The one thing that can have the impact on the business is maybe as provided by the author there has been dramatic increase in litter and vandalism. We should emphasize on "dramatic increase". Thus, dramatic increase in litter and vandalism might have impacted the business of the plaza because it may have slowly impacted the customer appeal for the infrastructure. Afterall, the ambience of the place plays one of the major roles in customer going to a place for shopping.

Finally, there is a huge flaw in the argument stated by the author as it is not providing any direct evidence for relation of skateboarding and business revenue. Not to ignore the fact that the author has not provided any statistical data of the decrease in business revenue of the last 2 years.