The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prediction made by the editor that business in central plaza will return to its high levels if there is prohibition in skateboarding is predicated on flawed assumptions and is insufficiently supported. In order to evaluate the editor’s remark based on the observation made, more evidences are required.

Firstly, the editor begins by mentioning that popularity of skateboarding has increased over the past two years while the number of shoppers has decreased. The editor is predicating his assumption only on the factor of increasing popularity of skateboarding without considering other factors that might be responsible for their lack of business. There is no significant number as to how many customers are visiting the plaza for shopping on an average compared to previous two years. Did the number drop because of their lack of efficiency in the business, Perhaps, customers chose to shop from other stores where they get more reasonable prices for the quality of the product they purchase. Therefore, the plaza is facing issues with the business not because of the sole factor that they claim is responsible for their inefficiency.

Moreover, the owners believe that increased number of skateboarders in the plaza are responsible for the decrease in their business. However, there is no provident information provided by the business in plaza on how much loss have they incurred because of the skateboarding community. On what basis are they deducing that their business is decreasing? And what number of skateboard users increased from past two years? If the number of skateboard users increased, say 10 percent from past 2 years. The 10 percent of 100 is significantly lower that of 1000. However, we also do not know how many customers are visiting the plaza on yearly basis to conclude that there is decrease in business due to the popularity of skateboarders.

Additionally, the editor also states that there has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Well, there is no proper evidence that this was resulted by the actions of the skateboarders and not by the other people who visited the plaza. How do we not know that the shoppers who visited the plaza were littering it after purchasing products that came with a wrapper? And that these businesses encouraged them to do so because they can blame it on skateboarding community? There are several questions that are needed to be answered to evaluate the editor’s argument of prohibiting skateboarding in the plaza.

While, the prediction that business of the plaza will increase by prohibiting the skateboarding is valid only if it provides enough evidence and sufficient supporting information on its argument. With the answers to the questions discussed in the previous paragraphs, the argument can be evaluated thoroughly.