The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The recommendation appeared in a memo directly make several assumptions before reaching to conclusion. It lacks several implications and factors and is insufficiently supported. In order to establish a strong support to the conclusion, more evidence is needed to warrant the argument.

The mayor mentions about the municipal golf course and resort built in the Ocean View two years ago. However, the mayor also substantiates that in the past two years the tourism in the Ocean view has increased and accounts the golf course and the resort hotel contributing for the most of it. Well, author here is establishing similar view point without considering the other factors that would affect the increase in tourism in Ocean view. Perhaps, a new amusement park which opened at the same time the resort did and also significant number of tourists are attracted towards the amusement park thereby increasing the tourism, and this has no concern with the resorts and the golf course. There is no evidence as to clearly suggest that increase in tourism was a result of the resort and golf course built. Without having proper data, we cannot evaluate mayor’s argument.

Further, it is also stated that new businesses have opened in Ocean view and tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. However, there is no clear implication that these businesses opened because they were attracted to the golf course and the resort hotel, and also how this contributed to the increase in tax revenues. The new businesses opening and tax revenues increasing might be corollary to some other factors, such as the population of the city, the amenities and facilities, and opportunities for employments etc. Also, there is no clear comparison on the factors that contribute for the economical growth between Ocean View and Hopewell. Thus, without the proper evidence it is difficult to evaluate the argument.

Additionally, the mayor is explicitly considering that generating the additional tax revenues would be the best way to improve Hopewell’s economy, by basing his conclusion on building a golf course and resort hotel similar to that in ocean view. As deciphered in the former paragraph, the economy of a city depends on many factors and perhaps building a resort and golf course might also contribute for some part of it. However, there is no clear evidence on how golf course and resort in Ocean view contributed for the economy, or how much of a profit did come from resort and golf course. Did actually people visit Ocean view to play golf? Answers to these questions can help mayor to scrutinize his thought and gain clearer picture. Thus, the argument is completely based on assumptions and without provident evidence it cannot be thoroughly evaluated.

While the mayor’s intention to increase the economy is auspicious, it lacks the fundamentals and supporting information, lacks several factors and is insufficiently supported. Therefore, in order to evaluate his argument, the mayor needs to provide additional evidence that can back his proposition.