The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's conclusion that the University of Wabash considering a community service requirement for graduate and undergraduate students with an objective that in return will provide local charities with help to continue their efforts is predicated on flawed assumptions and is insufficiently supported. In order to properly evaluate author's remark based on his observation, More evident information is required.

The author begins by mentioning that objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of the society. However, the author's claim is based only assumptions and not a prevalent evidences. We are only given information on such a community service requirement for all enrolled students exclusively by the University of Wabash. The author here presumes that other universities also have a similar objective. Also, well rounded and charitable members are not only those who provide service physically, but it accounts to also those who are knowledgeable enough to help intimately to an organization.

Moreover, the proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. However, the period of 9 months would not be considerate for students who are enrolled into difficult courses. The author here assumes that every student enrolled has similar area of study and his/her learning abilities will not be hindered by enabling themselves to contribute charitably by working at least 8 hours a month. For instance, a student from scientific research background cannot be able to cultivate extra time for charity for his field of study is intense. Therefore, without proper considerations on students' background of study and their ability to spend time on charitable needs, the author's claim cannot be evaluated thoroughly.

Additionally, the author also states that the Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information and this would be a fantastic opportunity to give back and gains real world experience. However, the latter part of statement is necessarily good for a student, the author with the former part of the statement assumes that students will actually visit the website to access contact information. The students might also work at other charitable communities that are not listed on the website. There is no evidence on how many of the students would agree to this community service requirement? If there was, it would have been easy to assume that students will take this initiative and visit the charities listed on the website. Without enough evidences, the author's claim that such a requirement in the university of Wabash will help local charities is insufficient to evaluate properly.

While, the universities objective to consider such a requirement enabling students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience thereby helping local charities to continue is a very good initiative only when it provides enough evidences and supporting information that deems the university's success in implementing it. With the proper evidences as discussed in the paragraphs previously.