A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author's statement on the prediction of health experts in regard to plummeting the residents suffering from headaches based on a study, lacks several important considerations and is insufficiently supported. More evidence is required to properly evaluate the author's argument.

Firstly, the author mentions that salicylates are naturally rich in many foods. However, there is no mention of what foods or what category of foods are rich in salicylates. Additional information on the type and category of foods that fall under salicylate rich foods is evident to evaluate the argument. If the 'many foods' in the author's statement mean by the foods that are easily available in the market and consumed by an average individual and also generally deemed as basic foods would make a valid point. On the contrary, if these foods are far from reach of an average individual, would make the statement insufficient. Therefore, having clarity on what foods are termed as salicylate rich foods is evident to evaluate the argument.

Further, the author states that the twenty year study found a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by the study participants in correlation with the rise in the commercial usage. However, without having proper figures on the count of study participants involved and the proportion to which the salicylate consumption or use was commercialized, the argument cannot be evaluated thoroughly. Additional evidences such as the total number of test subjects reporting fewer headaches along with the average proportion and time duration of salicylate intake will be neccessary to evaluate the argument. If the study had a sample size of a million participants reporting decline in fewer headaches with the increased consumption of salicylate and in brief period of time would make the author's argument valid and also strengthen the claim. Conversely, if the sample size was just about few hundreds, and with erratic information on salicylate intake and duration of time, would certainly reduce the validity of the author's argument. Ultimately, without the proper evidence on the number of participants and the average consumption of salicylate, it is difficult to evaluate its significance on acting as a substitute for reducing headaches.

Nevertheless, the author also links the discovery that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods and many companies also planning to implement it. However, there is no clear inclination whether this will lead to increase in consumption of the salicylate rich foods or salicylates can also be used as a flavor with similar food types. It requires additonal evidence as to why many food-processing companies are planning to use salicylates as flavor additives? Is it because people like to consume more flavored foods? If the usage of flavored foods is significantly more by the general consumers, and if it also lead them to consume salicylates with the food of their liking, this would strengthen the author's point in correlating this factor resulting in fewer headaches among the participants. Else, it would not be significant to correlate with the argument. Ultimately, without having many supportive information and significant questions answered the authour's argument and prediction by some health experts fall short to be properly evaluated.

While the author's statement on the prediction of health experts about the gradual decrease in suffering of headaches among the residents of Mentia in the future is relevant, but lacks certain aspects and considerations to properly evaluate the argument.