There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer healthy lives contrast to fast pace of life in Masonton is suggested by the findings. The conclusion is insufficiently supported with many possible assumptions. More evidence is needed to properly evaluate the argument.

Firstly, the businesses in small town of Leeville reports fewer days of sick leaves than do business in the big city, Masonton. The information is proportionally correlating sick leaves with the health conditions of the workers, lesser the number of sick leaves, healthier the workers are. However, this assumption accounts considering same number of workers being employed in the firms in both Leeville and Masonton. The business firms in big cities are considerably large with the organization and number of associates working. Without having proper information on how many of the workers reported sick leaves from both the businesses in Leevile and Masonton, with the sample size, that is the total number of workers employed, can provide additional evidence to consider whether fast pace of life affects health of an individual. If the ratio of number of sick leaves being reported to the total number of working associates for a period in businesses in Leeville is smaller than that of Masonton, the evidence is supportive, else it suggests the opposite making the claim implausible. Without having proper evidences, we cannot associate the factor of sick leaves to health condition of workers.

Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for thousand residents while Masonton has 5 times the ratio of Leeville. However, we are not given credible information as to how the number of physicians for certain number of resident accounts to plausible explanation. Perhaps, residents of leeville did not report or visit the physician and depend completely on the medicines from the pharmaceutical stores. On the other hand, residents of Masonton, frequently visit physicians, and number of visits are recorded. Maybe because the residents in bigger cities are more careful with their health and don’t want to take any health risks directly consult physician rather than purchasing medicines for stores. These additional evidences can if not otherwise, reinforce the claim. Having not much credible information, we cannot account this reason to be supportive to the conclusion of the author.

Additionally, the average age of residents of leeville is mentioned to be significantly higher than those of Masonton. There is no evidence as to what is the demographics of the population of both cities. Perhaps, residents of Leeville are more aged and have settled there after retirement and residents of Masonton are younger and have settled there recently for the opportunities it provides. Hence, in this condition, the average ages significantly differ and the city with more elderly people will have more average compared to other city with more younger ones. Therefore, without having evidences on these criteria, we cannot assess the author’s argument that Leeville with greater average age has relaxed pace of life contributing to the same.

The conclusion that relaxed pace of life in leeville accounts for good health and longevity is insufficiently supported. The additional evidences such as the ratio of number of sick leaves reported by both businesses to the total number, average ages with the demographic information etc. as discussed is needed to properly evaluate the author’s argument.