Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's implication that ancient humans knew about our physiology we don't and by emulating their eating habits, we can cure many chronic illnesses, predicated on flawed assumptions and insufficiently supported. To properly evaluate author's remarks on his observation, we require more evidences.

The author begins with mentioning that paleo diets are becoming increasingly popular and a diet such as bone broth, a soup made by cooking animals bone has several advantages. However, these proponents do not mention what animals can provide the bone soup, and what kind of diet they followed is also not mentioned. Did our early ancestors prevalently depend only on flesh, carnivore diet? There is no such evidence as to what diet was followed. If there are sufficient proof's with valid scientific data regarding the early hominids eating pattern with their bodily structure enabling them to digest such foods, it can corroborate author's assumptions that our bodies also evolved to eat such type of foods.

Moreover, they also believe the bone broth has health promoting nutrients, cartilage and chondroitin, which acts in bones and nerves respectively. However, with out sufficient information on the chemical compound structure of both and scientific proof's that they heal joints or help regenerate nerves, we cannot evaluate the argument. Adding to that, skeptics also point that the ingested cartilage and chrondoitin doesn't replenish cartilage and brains significantly discourages believing such theories. Therefore, with scientific validity on the comment, we can evaluate the argument properly.

Additionally, the author also states that there is strong evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases. Although, the author fails to mention what number of people consumed bone broth, what was the demographics tested. Perhaps, the inflammatory diseases could also be lowered because they had medications and which eventually showed its effect at the time they were consuming bone broth. Without having proper supportive statements and insufficent authentic assumptions, the author's argument that this diet has significant positive effects to cure diseases, cannot be properly evaluated.

Hence, the author's remark rests on flawed assumptions regarding the ancient diet followed by people curing chronic illnesses. The author doesn't provide valuable statements to support his argument which is inefficient without proper evidences. Therefore, with the questions addressed and the evidences provided for the discussions in the previous paragraph, the argument can be properly evaluated.