Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The purpose of education is to provide a larger perception and knowledge on the subjects that students wish to pursue as part of their career and academics is concerned. Universities provide students with innumerable courses to opt for and pursue career in the specific fields of study. Nevertheless, some students might be inconsiderate and ambiguous while choosing the courses to progress further, with some relying on lucrative careers while other relying on their passion. However, the universities should encourage students to take courses within the fields of study of their interest rather making it as a requirement.

Firstly, the interest in the field of study allows one to explore beyond what is taught in the course. This acts as a driving force motivating an individual to perform better in his academics by achieving good grades in the course. For instance, a student has taken a course in the field of his interest, while another student has taken the course because of the lucrative options lying ahead in that specific field. However, without interest it is common to underperform in academics, which in the latter's case is simply unavoidable. Comparing both the above students, the one with the interest in the field has more possibility of achieving success in the field rather than the other with less interest. Therefore, universities should encourage students to learn what interests them.

Secondly, the student who learns with interest, will acquire more fundamental knowledge, which enables, him/her to get a high salaried jobs within their field of interest. For instance, a mechanical prospect with higher fundamental knowledge and practical skills on the automation and robotics, which is a sub branch of mechanical can become a automotive engineer and acquire higher paid jobs like in Tesla, electric automotive company. Similarly, a biology prospect can have better opportunities in becoming doctor, surgeon etc. based on their field of interest. Therefore, students should choose to study in the fields of their interest and Universities should encourage them in doing so.

However, there are specific uncommon situations where universities should allow students to take courses out of their field of interest, this is because, it should be a students choice to learn what he intends to with foreseeing the benefits in the career, even it is not very much interesting to learn. One might argue that some financially weak students should focus more on lucrative careers rather than pursuing what interests them. Nevertheless, if the financial insecurity is the problem, the student should avail better funding programs, which are created for the benefits of financially weak students to pursue education. There are several scholarships and schemes around the world, even the universities grant concession in the tuition fees to enable students to learn subjects of their interest. However, any field can become lucrative if the student's interest lie in it.