Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying. Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The courses students take in their university career shape their future academic and career lives. Therefore, wrong decisions when selecting courses to take could deem all or a part of the student’s time spent in university obsolete. As to the fact that most undergraduate students don’t have a clear idea about the possible paths in front of them, their true interest and the demands of the job market, it’s best that the courses in undergraduate curriculum aren’t selected solely based on the students’ interests. This, however, doesn’t hold for graduate students.

University life is different from school in many ways, and one of the primary areas in which the two differ, is that the students are given a wide variety of choices in the university. All of a sudden, they can choose whether to attend lectures, to hand in homeworks or to chose to study instead of partying away the nights. Successfully making the right choices during the first years of Univeristy doesn’t come easy for most undergraduate students. Although giving the students the possibility to chose their courses based on their interests, could lead to them becoming extremely more adept in their field of interest, this approach tends to be detrimental for most naive students that are transitioning into university life. Undergraduate students of the third or last year and graduate students, however, are experienced enough to benefit from this approach to a great extent.

Undoubtedly, chosing courses according to one’s interest, goals and capabalities, is the best way to proceed, as it leads to the students studying more effectively and becoming experts in the area in which they want to continue career or studies instead of turning them into jacks of all trades. However, it also takes away the possibility of exploring fields about which the students might not have had any idea before. In the early years of university when most students aren’t certain about what’s right for them, passing general courses on various subjects could help them find what they’re interested in. For instance, during my first years of college, I had no idea what field I wanted to continue my studies in. I wasn’t even sure if I wanted to get a Master’s degree. In fact, it wasn’t until my required courses on Machine Learning and my curricular internship, which I carried out in the field of Artificial Intelligence, that my goal of getting an Master’s degree in Artificial Intelligence became evident to me. Hadn’t it been for the required courses that I took on the subject, it would have never occured to me that I could find this field interesting.

To conclude, the pressure that comes with transition into university life combined with the naivity of undergraduate students makes the selection of courses based on students’ interests, quite a risky approach. However, for graduate students this approach could substantially contribute to their success.