Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Universities encouraging students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying might seem a good idea considering the fact that most successful people in life have testified to their interest in a particular subject, school, environmental or activity as one of the reasons they are high fliers in the respective fields or vocation. I am of a contrary opinion to the idea, in the sense that we leave in a complex and changing world it would not be advisable to parochial if one wants to fit in todays society.

Take a look a science for example, most student find mathematics interesting and other aspect of science especially chemistry and physics highly theoreticall but this field are in one way or the other inter connected, many scientists with nobel prices in innovative discoveries in chemistry where either mathematicians or physicist, schroginger who determine the uncertainty principle widely applied in chemistry in determining the decay of radioactive substances was a physicist. If he had no idea of chemistry there could have been no way he could have applied this particulate- wave property of atoms in explaining the activity of radia active element.

Also in our comtemporary world we see how inter-related many displicine are, technology in been used to improve the efficiency of surgury, and in chemistry the accuracy of analysis. An engineer who will design medical equipment might not be a crack in medicine but who be required of such person to have a layman knowledge of medicine. Where i currently work as a quality control scientist, my little engineering knowledge which i obtain during my sophomore year has aided me in easily detecting origin of flaws in product and this helped in effectly dealing with the problem by giving appropriate feed back to the right operator.

Many people might be of the opinion that only what one has interest in will be understood, at pre college level that might be true but at university level matured and well groomed mind are what make up the caliber of student and it is expected of the to be able to over any challenge thrown at them. It is therefore advisable to encourage student to take all course that will be beneficial to them and not only those they have interest in.