The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author concludes that in order to improve Clipson Industries' overall profits and proper work ethic, employees who use internet at workstations must be monitored.

The validation of this contention can be assured only if the author can address these following three assumptions.

First of all, the author assumes that productivity of the company is only tied to the performance of employees. This might not be true. In business, customers input cannot be ignored as far as profits and productivity are concerned. Perharps the demand of their products is low, hence, productivity is also low. In addition, maybe the number of employees needed for the output expected is not enough, obviously, productivity would decrease. When there is more hands, the rate at which a purpose is achieved is increased and thereby the productivity is also increased. If either of the scenerios holds true, the author's contention is significantly weekened.

Another possibility that would hinder the persuasiveness of the argument is that the author assumes that punishment is directly proportional to a positive change. This might not be true. Some people will only change when talked to calmly. As a adult, i believe if the reasons for a positive change is communicated to properly, there would surely be a good turnaround. What if people punished resigns, leading to low employees, hence, low productivity. If these opinions above is validated then the author's assertiond does not hold water.

Finally, the author assumes that the hours the employees spend on personal and recreational activities is the reason why their is low productivity. Maybe employees goes online during break time. I believe for every work, there is always a time to rest, maybe they are chatting with customers on the internet. Hence, if this holds true, the author's contention is weekened.

In conclusion, before an active step would be taken concerning what the author concluded, the above assumptions must well addressed.