The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The conclusion drawn from the following argument is flawed for numerous reasons.The conclusion is based on an unsupported evidence that maple county will experience same rise in housing cost as pine county did.

The arguement does not provide justification that the cities compared are similar in terms of population density, for housing cost to increase the demand has to surpass the supply. Pine county may have a higher population density, The conclusion that maple county will experience the same exponential increase in cost of housing as pine county is without basis.

Secondly the council fail to consider the economic activities of maple county as compared to pine county before reaching it's conclusion. If economic activity in maple county is low as compared to pine county, it will experience a slower population explosion and would not face same challenge as pine county.

Had the argument provided information regarding similarity in population and economic activities of the compared counties, even then the argument would have to further state the nature of houses erected in the counties, if pine city had more of bungaloos more land will be used up, if maple county has more of story buildings less land will be used up.

The argument fails to provide solid evidence for the comparison made, conclusion drawn cannot stand for maple county based on what is observed in pine county on enacting the law.