The council of Maple Country, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the argument mentioned above the overdevelopment of Maple country is under supervision, and a certain measure regarding to preventing development of existing farmland in the country for solving the problem concerned is proposed. According to comparison between the opinions of opponents and proponents, the council of Maple anticipates that choosing this measure can increase the price of housing. The argument has some weaknesses and ambiguities and according to the reasons mentioned it is impossible to conclude precisely.

Firstly, the question is that whether or not the measure considered is applicable for solving the problem related to overdevelopment. According to what research and factors, the proposed measure for preventing development of existing farmland has been presented. There is no mention regarding to the process of assessment and choosing the measure. One of the solutions for improvement of problems regarding overpopulation and overbuilding is to transmit and encourage people to suburban areas which are surround by farmlands. This situation has some benefits, including having more space for building house to accommodate more people and creation of jobs which are related to field of farming. So, it seems that the idea of avoiding development of existing farmland is not completely useful because this activity can cause official to be faced with the problem related to increasing house demanding, which can increase the price of housing after a while. This measure must be assessed based all economic aspects which are not mentioned in the argument.

The proponents of the measure bring one example to support it. They have mentioned to the Chestnut County. This country used the similar measure 10 years ago, and the price of houses in this country did not increase significantly. However, we have to consider that this period considered is too long, and we do not know whether Maple and Chestnut are comparable or not. Have these countries the same features? Are the conditions in Maple the same as ten years ago in Chestnut? We have to know that officials in Chestnut country had what facilities and conditions to use the measure to control overdevelopment. How they could control price of housing with such measure? We have to know that officials in Maple are as eligible as those in Chestnut to implement the proposed measure?

Compared to the example of proponents, the sample given by opponents must also be considered. They mention to the Pine County that used the measure 15 years ago and had not satisfying outcomes. There is no information about the reasons of lack of success in the implementation of measure. But the officials in Maple have to find why in Pine country the price of housing has increased as result of performing the measure. They have to consider that whether their country and its conditions are the same as Pine. However, we have also consider that opponents have also considered long period of time. However, we have also to consider that opponents have also considered long period of time. The argument of both groups had been more valid if they would have considered a closer period of time.

Even the conclusion rendered is not acceptable because officials in Maple have to check the measure accurately and try to answer all questions and resolve all ambiguities mentioned in the writing. For such decision the existence of statistical figures, plots and rigorous analysis is required.

In conclusion, the given argument and conclusion are not cogent enough for making decision about the implementation of measure considered.