We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own. Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Given that disagreement can lead to stress and limit learning, the question is that whether or not we can learn more from people whose views contradict ours. I believe that although undue discord can impede learning, we can learn more from wise discourse and debate with people whose ideas oppose ours because in this way we can better expand our knowledge and identify our weaknesses.

On the one hand, under some circumstances disagreement with others can be counterproductive to learning. A major problem regarding to disagreement is that it focuses too much on negative aspects of human interaction. Most of the time contradiction can cause people only pay attention to flaws and faults rather than to positive points. Immoderate discrepancy ignore how different ways and ideas can help individuals to make better decisions and improve their activities. As a result, people might be disillusioned to learn from opposite views. The best example is when two people have personal hostility and want to speak about a special subject. All the time, both sides of debate tend to consider the negative aspects of their counterpart’s words and try to tease each other. In this condition, they oppose each other whether intentionally or unconsciously and do not attempt to learn anything from each other.

Additionally, disagreement can inhibit learning when two opponents disagree on fundamental assumptions needed for meaningful debate and discourse. For instance, a biology student can learn less from a religious person about the evolution process of humans and other creatures, as their basic view is completely different and they reject each other. Most of the time, discourse among them might lead to argument and other negative ethical results.

Despite the negative points mentioned above, I claim that if discussion is based on reason and logic, even opponents can learn from their debate and advance their knowledge. For example, teenage conflict with their parents is something common in all families. Rational discussion can encourage teenagers to listen their parents ‘experience in order to learn how certain behavior can naturally carry some undesirable consequences and it is better for them to avoid doing such demeanor. At the community level, through an objective speech, an environmental activist can come to understand the legal economic concerns of people whose jobs depend on the continued profitable operation of a factory. Conversely, the latter might stand to learn more about the potential public health expenses to be paid by ensuring job growth and a low employment rate. So, through an impartial discourse, they can cooperate each other to keep condition balance in order nobody to hurt.

According to my experience, the level of learning from debate with people whose ideas are in common with us is not as high as those whose ideas contradict ours. This is because like-minded people usually cannot add many things to each other. They usually think alike.

In conclusion, in my view, we can learn from different discussions whether by our opponents or by adherents. It is important the debate is built on correct and rational assumptions.