It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

It said that social groups are a way that through them people define themselves and others can know more about their personality. I agree with this point of view.

Social groups are a group of people in which we have an association with. According to psychology, individuals usually choose to join to groups that match their character. Therefore, in such groups people can better decipher the innate characteristics of others. For example, if the person is in the travel groups, in this way we can understand he or she likes travelling and socializing. In my experience, the influence of social groups on people is completely clear and it can be found in all of the stages of their lives.

When individuals born and are introduced into the world the first people whom they are familiarized with are their parents. Family is the first social group in which children are raised. Parent teach them about social norms, culture and manners. In other words, family is a group that form the initial personality of children. In such group, children try to form their character by imitating of those manners that they like rom their parents. So, it is expected that parents prepare their children for joining to other groups by telling them what behavior are expected to have out of home.

As time goes on, children are familiarized with school where the influence of peer groups is determined. In the school children learn to make friends with like mined individuals. In other words, peer groups are a group in which people learn to communicate with others and how to discuss with their friend about different subjects. Additionally, they learn about the value sharing things and helping each other. Peer groups has a strong influence on the personality of children, as at this age they like to fall into the line with their friends and to such that they accept the ideas of their friends, they don’t believe in their parents ‘idea.

In the adult working life, the influence of social groups becomes deeper to such that we can more know about the personality of people through their occupation or career job. For example, lawyers have usually serious personality and because of their job they can be a good adviser because they have to consider issue from an even-handed dimension or doctors are very acumen and clever because they have to determine the problems of illness in patients. Also, the work environment can affect the personality of people. If individuals work in the workplace in which rules are lax and manger and colleague do not value time and do their duties with delay, such people also do not become punctual and they do not attempt to perform their duties on time. However, if they find themselves in a work environment in which people are committed and active, they are encouraged and motivated to be a good employee and do their best for the progress of their company using innovate and creative ideas.

However, some people believe that socials groups cannot completely present the personality of people. These people believe that individuals usually do not show their true selves and cover their real personality. They try to introduce themselves based on what they aspire to be. I agree with them to some extent but the question is that how long people can hide their real character, 1 month, 1 year how long? After a while, people unconsciously show who they really are and they cannot play their artificial character.

In conclusion, in my view, throughout our lives we are influenced with different social groups and such groups have the main role in formation of our personality. So, they can be the representative of our character.