Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When school is finished, teenagers usually face the dilemma of whether to get a job or to continue their education. While there are some advantages to getting a job immediately after school, I believe that it would be better for students to go university to learn more about the skills and knowledge they need.

The option to start work straight after school can be attractive for several reasons. Many young people want to find a job and earn money as soon as possible. This is because this situation let them become independent, and start their own family. In addition, people who decide to work instead of studying may progress quickly, as they can immediately learn real and practical skills. For example, in my country, a plumber or an electrician usually do not need to have university degree and by passing the internship period, they can easily run their own business and earn money at acceptable level.

However, if students like to become a doctor, teacher or lawyer, they are required to have academic qualifications. Also, in modern life, there is a hard competition in the job market. Many applicants with strong CV compete with each other for any vacancies that become available. In this condition people with university degree usually are prioritized over those with without academic degrees because many employers believe that in universities there are many qualified and skillful professors who are able to take their students to high level of knowledge and expertise. This way can ensure that graduates have necessary merit to work well in the workplace, as they are forced to pass hard exams and do some stimulated project for real workplace.

In conclusion, in my view, depending on personal interests of individuals, for some jobs going to university is not necessary, and those choosing such jobs can be successful. However, I believe that teenager can have many years of working ahead of them, and they are more likely to be successful if they continue their education and after graduation try to find a job.