Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is said that whether or not governments should put few restrictions on scientific projects. I believe that the amount of restrictions depend on the type of researches should be different.

On the one hand I believe that the interference of government on some scientific projects which are morally wrong is necessary and such scientific plans must be banned. One of these projects is testing on animals. I strongly disagree with such research, as I believe that animals are the creatures of God and have this right to live. It is morally wrong scientists use them in order to test the credibility and effectiveness of products which are supposed to be used by humans. For example, animal testing on cosmetics or other nonmedical products. In this situation, the limits imposed by government are necessary, and officials have to encourage people to use the products which are not examined on animals. Also, such project must not be subsidized by state budget.

However, as there is no suitable alternative instead of animals for medical projects, some of the scientific tests on animals for medical progressions can be justifiable. I believe that for treatment of some curable diseases or even incurable, scientists have no choice but to select animals for testing of effectiveness of drugs. This is because in this way they can find some solutions to treat ill people as soon as possible. For instance, many useful vaccines used by people are as a result of animal examination. Do people use a vaccine that has not been tested? Absolutely not. If medical remedies had not been tested, people would have not satisfied to use them and the illnesses would have spread widely. In this condition, governments need to support scientific plans related to medicine, but they also have to set some reasonable rules for such projects so that no one can misuse them.

Also, I believe that strong restrictions are necessary for scientific projects which can threaten the lives of people, such as the creation of nuclear weapons. This is because such products can be used by corrupt officials who want to have the power and they do not consider the negative consequences of such products. Like the use of chemical bombs in Hiroshima that yet many people suffer from the irreparable outcomes resulted by such bombs.

However, the officials must not interfere on scientific projects which can help people to have better life. For example, the projects related to the creation of satellite internet for unlimited access so that no one can interrupt it. In some country like Iran, because officials tend to censor some important news and not to let people know about the facts, as a result they filter most of social networks. If officials in overseas let their technical specialists to provide satellite networks in the world, no one can limit the access of the internet and all people can know about the truth and the events around them. They can easily use the internet in right way to progress their lives. In such project the interference of officials must be ignored.

In conclusion, in my view, based on the kind of the project the amount of restrictions from government should be respected and considered.