Some people believe today that everyone has a right to access to the Internet and that governments should provide this access for free. Other people believe that access to the internet is not a right and should be paid for like other services. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

People have different views on whether or not internet access should be free. I believe that individuals have to pay for internet services like other media, such as phone, televion and newspaper.

Before the introduction of the internet, people had no choice but to use phone for calling, newspaper and television for getting news about different events. However, modern life depends on the internet so that all activities are done over it, from making connections with social media, such as Skype, Meet and Imo to getting news from Instagram, Telegram and YouTube. In the past, people had to pay for phone calls and newspapers, so the question is that why some people believe that accessing the internet should be free. Like other all media, accessing to the internet is costly, from the storing the information to passing it to users.

We have to consider that If officials want to make the internet free, they must use the state budget which can be used for improvement of necessary public services, including road safety, construction of well-equipped hospitals and schools. The only benefit of public internet can be the warranty of equal access of all people to the internet. This can be an invaluable activity in order to increase the knowledge of individuals by providing a space in which people can equally learn, grow and make informed decisions. But what percentage of people really use such a service? Individuals who really need to use the internet will be willing to pay for it. Therefore, providing free internet is waste of money. Additionally, such an internet service not only is unreliable but also is slow especially when multiple users have access to the internet simultaneously. Moreover, in this condition some hackers can misuse the free internet to hack the information of users because of the weak condition of security in the virtual space. As a result, having the free internet is not reasonable.

In conclusion, in my view, people have to pay for using the internet, as the money raised can help governments to provide more facilities for keeping virtual space safe. Also, this money can be a good aid for the state budget for providing important public services.