"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this letter, the editor concludes that birth order has a significant effects on the levels of individual's stimulation base on a recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys and includes also that the same applies to human being. However, before the persuasiveness of the editor's reasons can be accepted, these three rivalry explanations must be look into.

First of all, species have always been known to have different characteristics because of gene variations. The editor is assuming that all species act the same way, this might not be true. Perharps the same specie of monkeys were used for the study, if different specie of first born monkeys were used, it might not produce the same result. In addition, maybe the monkeys of the same location. Science has proved it that animals tend to grab things easily by social learning. It is possible that new born monkeys from different environment will act differently. If these additional explanations are true, hence the editors arguments hold no water.

Moreover, the editors does not give us enough informations about the kind of firstborn humans that were studied. Humans have different temperamental and sometimes act according to situations of things around them. If firstborn that lacks emotions are studied in the same condition, the result might be totally different. If firstborn, if this is true, the author's argument is weekened.

Finally, so many things determine the situations around pregnancy. The author assumes that everything is the same, this may not be true. Maybe the study was on only on isolated monkeys, stress might increase the level of cortisol, however, this won't be true for a first timer monkey that has all the support needed. If this is true, the author's argument is not compelling.

In conclusion, although the reasons the editor gives to support the claim that birth order has effects on individual's level of stimulation might seem correct but not until the above explantations are giving.