"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

There is a current change made by happy pancake house,however,it has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead.

The assumtion, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine." does sounds logical but it is parochial, there could be other reason why only two where observed to complain on the turn of events, without a survey taken and reason from customer show that only the assumed statement made, then their as other reason why their is no low number of customers complaining. Other reason which could the responsible for the observation are

The time frame between when the switch from butter to magrine is made, if the time frame is shot customers accustomed to the usually topping of butter served might be oblivious to the change, they make their request made on afore knowledge they possess, on been served margarine they find it better

Most Customers of Happy Pancake House, especially those who do not complain might be natural lovers of margarine, therefore they will find these change propitious. In this kind of scenerior such a customer would not protest been served margarine which was not what he/she requested.

Considering some other factors, such as the appearance, taste and health benefit in which most of the customers do have knowledge of margarine been better than butter, it will be welcome by the customers, the restaurant is finally consider health of it consumers .

In conclusion, customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine, is not totally credible, with many instate facts in the arguement, there is no prime on which to base their arguement.