The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The business manager claim that there is only little impact of the replacement of butter. However, following some alternative explanations of the data should be considered as well.

First of all, the manager claims that only 2% of customers have complained about the replacement, but the question is does the number shows the reality? What if customers that are unsatisfied with the change tend not to complain but never visit the restaurant again? The percentage of complaints can not infer the true number of unhappy customers.

Secondly, although the servers have reported that customers do not complain when they are given margarine, it doesn't mean customers accept the change. It might be the server who lied and did not tell the customer that they change the butter to margarine. Or even the customer complained but the servers did not tell the business manager the truth, to avoid getting themselves into trouble.

Another question that was confusing is how does the data of 2% come from. Is it from a survey? We have no information about where the data were from. If the collection of data were from a survey but only 1% of the customer has answered the questionnaire, the percentage of the complaint is not likely to be accurate.

Even if replacing butter with margarine does not cause complaints from the customer, it seems like the manager tend to lie to all the customer. What if one day someone realizes that they give margarine but not butter and post it on the internet? It will damage the credibility of the restaurant and cause serious problems.