The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the study, it is suggested that hiring people who sleep less than 6 hours per night could profit the company. However, some of these assumption should be considered.

The study assumed that the result of executives can be inferred to all the employees. Whereas the responsibility depends on the position they are in, and the sleeping hours they need may be different. For example, labors need long time sleep in order to have the energy to be productive, but what advertising executives do during working days is compared less energy needed. Thus, the company should report the sleep hours each position needs to reach a better conclusion.

Even if successful executives sleep less than 6 hours, it does not infer that people with fewer sleep hours can be good executives. It should be considered if all these executives used to sleep no more than 6 hours. It may be possible that they used to sleep longer but in order to afford the heavy works, the executive lessen the sleeping hours. In this situation, it the not necessary to hire people who sleep less since the heavy work will force them to do so.

Since the data of the study came from self report, the reality should be examined. Maybe all these advertising executives tend to report less sleeping hours to show how hard they work. In addition, how many successful executives are there? If there were only 10 productive executives out of 300 in the report, and 5 of them reported to sleep less than 6 hours, the evidence is not enough to reach the conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument should be fully examined to claim that people sleep less than 6 hours could be productive employees.